History Society Talks
Bakewell and District Historical Society run a number of talks and activities throughout the year. To find out more about the Society, please click here .

 Talks are held at 19:30 in the Friends' Meeting House, Bakewell. Talks are free to society members and non members are welcome.
 Some outings may be charged to cover entrance to exhibits and travel fees.
Wednesday 27th February 2019
Historical Society AGM
Wednesday 27th March 2019
John Robertson (1808-1852) Architect of Baslow covering his many local houses built while working for Paxton.
Talk by Ann Hall
Wednesday 24th April 2019
Alternative Histories of Bakewell’s Old House. Besides the accepted history of the Parsonage House George will cover other theories and show some changes made by the Historical Society.
Talk by George Challenger
Wednesday 22nd May 2019
​​The FitzHerberts of Tissington​​
Talk by Polly Morten - Guide from Tissington Hall
Wednesday 26th June 2019
The History of Cheese Making in Derbyshire, did you know there had been a cheese factory in Bakewell?
Talk by Alan Salt maker of Hartington Stilton
Wednesday 24th July 2019
A visit to Ripon

Three Museums, a Great Day Out
Workhouse and Garden, Prison and Police Museum and the Courthouse Museum. ​​
Wednesday 25th September 2019
Peak in the Past a Community Heritage Group
The Creation of the Historical Documentary Series
Talk by Tim Knebel a local archivist
Wednesday 23rd October 2019
Victorian Girls Schools in Derbyshire. Where were they and who went there? Historical detective work with photos and documents​​  
Talk by Liz Keeley - Guide at Chatsworth  


Wednesday 27th November 2019 
Great Hucklow Playhouse and L du Garde Peach  

Talk by Peter Miles
Wednesday 22nd January 2020
Luds Church (A very Quirky Church)  

Talk by Anne Lodder  
Wednesday 26th February 2020
John Smedley and his Hydro, a short history of this very complex character
Talk by Mandy Coates
Please note the AGM for 2020 will almost certainly be on Wednesday 22nd of April 2020, there will be a talk on March 25th 2020 as usual and the speaker will be announced in next year’s journal​​